ICBA National Award to 22 Organizations

Posted by BankInfo on Mon, Dec 20 2010 06:49 pm

Twenty Two (22) organizations of Bangladesh won the tenth Institute of Chartered Accounts of Bangladesh (ICAB) award this year. Based on the accounts and reports of several organizations, published in 2009, ICAB has awarded this award to Bank, non-bank, production, IT and non-governmental organizations. This ceremony took place yesterday evening in the Sheraton Hotel of the capital.

Mr. Abul Mal Abdul Muhit was present in the ceremony as a chief guest. ICAB chair Mr. Jamaluddin Ahmed, assistant chair Mr. Shahjahan Majumder and the chair of evaluation committee Mr. Abu Sayeed delivered their speech to the audience. Finance minister Mr. Abul Mal Abdul Muhit said that several organizations are doing well in making accounts report. He also said that such transparency is needed where money is related. Jamal Uddin Ahmed informed that since 2001 ICBA is presenting this award. As a result organizations put emphasizes on improving economic review of their organizations. This helps to attract foreign investors and make them interested to invest in our country.

Finance Minister distributed crest and certificates to the Chief Executives and senior officers of the organizations, present in the program.

Awarded Organizations in Bank Category: Prime Bank (1st), Eastern Bank (2nd) and Dutch-Bangla Bank (3rd). Premier Bank, BRAC Bank and National Bank also won the honorary award in the same category. In the non-Banking category Green Delta and Reliance Insurance won the award. Prime Finance and Investment Limited, IDLC and Lanka Bangla also got the award in the same category. In the production sector Glaxo Smith Cline Bangladesh Limited became first. Singer and ACI won the second and third prize.

GrameenPhone was awarded in the communication and IT sector and BRAC became first in the NGO category where Sajeda Foundation and Bureau Bangladesh and Uddipon became second and third. Agrani Bank got this award from Governmental organization. Agrani Bank and Prime Bank also won prizes for corporate discipline and good administration.        

 News Source: Prothom Alo/20 Dec 2010